

ASIA PACIFIC SECTION

2nd ANNUAL ASIA PACIFIC SECTION MEETING

Sendai, Japan was the site of the 2nd Annual Asia Pacific Section meeting which was held November 17-19, 1995. The Congress Chairman was Dr. Toshitake Furusawa, President of the japan College of Oral Implantologists (JCOI) and the turnout was significant. Over 200 clinicians attended the Asia Pacific Section symposium.

3rd NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF THE ISOI, NOVEMBER 25-26, 1995

Bombay, India was the scene of the Indian Society of Oral Implantologists 3rd National Conference. The venue for this ICOI Affiliate Society symposium was the "ICOI MEMBERSHIP IN INDIA HAS INCREASED OVER 300 % IN THE PAST YEAR UNDER THE LEADERSHIP OF PAST-PRESIDENT DR. A. P. CHITRE."

Nanavati Hospital Auditorium. Dr. O. Hilt Tatum, Past-President of the AAID, was the featured clinician for the conference. The Chairman for the event was Dr. S. S. Khambay; the Organizing Secretary was Dr. M. P. Sabuwalla, and the President of the ISOI, Dr. H. D. Adhiya, presided over the symposium.

ICOI membership in India has increased over 300 % in the past year under the leadership of Past-President Dr. A. P. Chitre. Congratulations to the ISOI for its work in spreading the word of oral implantology in India and in helping to bolster ICOI membership in the country. A special thanks to Dr.

Richard Stallard, our Middle East Section Director, who manages to keep not only the Central Office current in the section, but who also continues to carry the banner for the ICOI in the Middle East.

NEW AFFILIATE SOCIETY IN HONG KONG

The ICOI has a new Affiliate Society in its Asia Pacific Section, this time in Hong Kong under the guidance of Dr. Caesar Wong, President of the Hong Kong Society of Oral Implantology. The HKSOI's first symposium, a basic training course with hands-on sessions, was attended by 140 doctors. We look forward to seeing our new colleagues from Hong Kong at upcoming symposia in Singapore, Monte-Carlo or Madrid.

Shown enjoying the Gala
Dinner at the Sendai
Congress are (left to
raight, front row) Dr.
Roland Meffert, Iprs. and
Dr. Toshitake Furusawa,
Dr. Gyula Takacs and(left
to right, back row)
Mr. Maurice Velana,
Dr. Gerald Lehmenn,
Dr. Hajime Okudera,
Dr. James Shu and Dr.
Eduardo Topete and Dr.
Ajime Okudera.

